You are currently browsing the daily archive for June 10, 2009.

Just got word today that Cure magazine will include an essay I wrote in its Fall issue. I had submitted this piece to them back in February and after the requisite six weeks of waiting, I rechecked their guidelines and read those dreaded words, “Due to the large number of submissions we receive, we only reply to those we are interested in publishing.” Ah, silence is the new rejection. How dissatisfying to not even get a “We regret to inform you . . .” letter. So I wrote it off, assuming they weren’t interested, thinking, “Darn, that was a good one, too.”

And then a call came in today from Dallas and it was the editor-at-large saying she wanted to use my “wonderful” piece in their next issue. And actually pay me for it. (Not exactly a windfall, mind you, but it still feels good.) Not sure this magazine actually “hits the stands” as it’s focused entirely on cancer and I’ve only ever seen it in the hospital waiting rooms, but I’ll let you know when it appears.

Speaking of, another essay I told you about a few months ago was supposed to be published in the Summer issue of Caring Today magazine, but their website hasn’t been updated in ages and I haven’t heard anything from them. Funny because I already got paid for that one. Oh well.

And of course, there’s that pesky little issue of securing a literary agent. As you know, my first 16 pages are sitting with Kelly Corrigan’s agent in Los Angeles, who said four weeks ago that I was a “strong writer” and she would request more pages in up to four weeks. Now I realize that she does not have my name and contact info highlighted in her datebook, (**Don’t forget to contact Krissy by June 10!!**) so I’m just sitting tight on this one. She has lots of clients who obviously take precedence over me and I think I’ll wait a few more weeks before contacting Kelly to see what to do next. I have definitely placed all my eggs in one basket with this one and have not bothered to submit to anyone else since this opportunity arose. I am instead adding the latest round to the book so it’s ready when asked for.  Here’s a great story about how The Middle Place came to be, which makes me smile, gives me hope, and keeps me sitting on my hands.

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers