And so another year goes by.

On this date, August 3, 2002, Mark and I got married underneath perfectly blue skies on Lake Chautauqua. I remember that I had worried for months about the weather since the ceremony was completely out in the open and, while we had a tent for the dinner, the event could have been pretty miserable if the weather hadn’t cooperated (people would have had to walk through mud and rain just to get to a bathroom!).  I was willing to accept anything short of a dark stormy day– 95 and humid or 60 and cloudy would have been preferrable to that. But not only did it not rain, it was positively glorious.  I mean, as perfect as they come. Sort of like today, but not even this hot: blue sunny skies, warm in the sun but with a steady breeze, an orange sun blazing into the lake at sunset, followed by a purple and pink sky before we danced to “The Luckiest” under the stars.  Really perfect.

And not just the weather, but the whole she-bang. I was big into planning my wedding. I had a blast with it, dreaming up all the tiny details and excitedly poring over Martha Stewart’s magazines.  And it actually went off without a hitch.

7 years ago was pre-digital for me, so this is one fo the only wedding pics I have on my computer. Can you see us there saying our vows?

Seven years ago was pre-digital for me, so this is one of the only wedding pics I have on my computer. Can you see us there saying our vows?

And of course, as everyone knows, it’s not the wedding that is most important but the marriage that follows it. And that too has been as close to perfect as they come. Not that it’s gone according to plan — no, not quite that — but I could not have asked for a better husband, a more steadfast partner, a more trusted friend, than my Mark. As we were cleaning furiously this past weekend (more on that in next post), I put away a card that I gave him right before we headed back into the hospital for Austin’s last surgery and inside I’d written, “I could not imagine going through something more horrible and I could not imagine going through it with someone more wonderful.”

So tonight, we will toast once again . . . so far, so good.

