We still haven’t heard anything.

This means one of three things (or maybe it means one of those other things I just haven’t thought of yet): 1) The doctors at St. Jude’s haven’t yet contacted Jeff. 2) They did contact him and their recommendation was the same as his (watch and wait) and he’s just been so busy, it sort of fell off his radar and he forgot to call us (this is, in my opinion, the best option although it seems out of character). Or 3) their recommendation was so extreme (i.e. removing the kidney right away), that Jeff is consulting again with the local docs before contacting us. Hmmmmmmm . . .

On another note, as many of you probably knew when you read the last post but were hesitant to share with me, Jude IS the patron saint of “lost causes”!  And I thought I was kidding when I suggested it. Couldn’t they have picked the patron saint of sick children or something? Lost causes? Ugh.

After I had already googled it myself, I got this in an email from Mark, who’d obviously googled it himself:  The Apostle Saint Jude Thaddeus is “The Miraculous Saint,” the Catholic Patron Saint of “lost causes” and “cases despaired of.”  When all other avenues are closed, he is the one to call upon, and his help often comes at the last moment.

Okay, I get that. This is the place you go when all else has failed and then, at the very last moment when hope is almost gone, they save you. I still think it’s a bad name.

Anyway, just to fill you in on other developments in our life: Still nothing on the house, although we did have a showing yesterday. I’m hopeful that some couple is sitting at their kitchen table right now talking about how much they love this house and figuring out what to offer (I told you I don’t lose hope!). 

Braedan continues to love school and is learning to read before my very eyes. And Austin is finally starting to love his school too.  He actually clapped as we pulled up the other day. He still cries when I leave him but it only lasts ten seconds and then, in his teacher’s words, he has “phenomenal” days.

So, we carry on.

