Just takin’ care of business today:  If you still have things to donate to the Toy & Learning Material Drive, it’s not too late.  A lot of wonderful stuff has been collected (thank you) but it’s mostly for very young children. This is okay because many of the students selected by the school guidance counselors have younger siblings in their homes, but we do still need items for children older than 9.  I know it can be hard to get “toys” for that age group, especially if they’re not tech toys and video games, but books, puzzles, board games, model kits and certain crafts (like jewelry building) are totally appropriate.  If you have something to donate, please bring it to any of the CHUH elementary schools (or my house) by this Thursday.  More information can be found here and here.

Also, I am moving ahead with a Young Authors’ Conference for the district (as discussed here), which will likely be held in the spring at just one or two elementary schools (to be expanded to the others in coming years).  I am hosting a brainstorming meeting next Wednesday morning at 9:15 at my house if you’re interested.

Thanks, all, for being wonderful members to share this community with or for bearing with me when I write such local posts.

